The Ten Best Halloween Movies (In No Particular Order)

1. The Nightmare Before Christmas

Image

No Halloween is complete without a viewing of Tim Burton’s stop-motion masterpeice. I snagged a pair of super cool Jack Skellington socks at my local Walgreens, and you can bet I’ll be wearing them every day this week.

2. Hocus Pocus

Image

There’s a reason this classic always pops up on ABC Family’s Halloween movie marathons, and it’s not just because seeing Sarah Jessica Parker as Sarah Sanderson is possibly the weirdest and most exciting experience ever. “Hocus Pocus” is a timeless tale of Halloween spirit and youthful triumph, and I would watch it all year round if I weren’t afraid of my roommates judging me.

3. A Nightmare on Elm Street

Image

What’s creepier than a bunch of kids being murdered in their sleep by a guy whose skin looks like salami? Arguably one of the best horror films in cinematic history – and the remake isn’t half bad either.

4. Sleepy Hollow

Image

Another Tim Burton creation (luv him), “Sleepy Hollow” is a strange take on the classic tale we all know. It’s actually pretty scary at points, and it’s the perfect example of Christina Ricci in her prime.

5. Insidious

Image

I posted about “Insidious Chapter 2” a few weeks back, and I stand by what I said that this first installment is one of the most geniusly-crafted horror films I’ve seen. If you’re looking for a movie that relies on more than just a bunch of cheep scares and dramatic music, add this one to your movie list.

6. The Ring

Image

Not only was this one of the tables at my bar mitzvah (The theme was movies.), but it’s also a great choice to get yourself in the Halloween spirit. The whole “seven days” thing just never gets old.

7. Scream

Image

A scary movie that mocks the predictability of scary movies and thereby is kind of in a way making fun of itself? Yes, please. This awesomely ’90s murder mystery is a tribute to the horror genre as a whole, and its pretty fun watching its all-star cast get killed off one by one.

8. Halloween

Image

The name says it all. It would be a sin to not include the “Halloween” franchise on this list. If anything, this film deserves recognition just because the theme song will give anyone the heebie jeebies. My 7th grade BFF had it as her ringtone for a year, which to this day I do not understand.

9. Beetlejuice

Image

I’m sorry, last Tim Burton movie – I swear. But come on!

10. The Exorcist

Image

Last but not least, the queen of all horror films. Although it’s just kind of gross and uncomfortable at points, this movie pioneered the genre of posession flicks. It is also the reason my mother couldn’t be home alone for two years of her life.

One response to “The Ten Best Halloween Movies (In No Particular Order)

Leave a comment